Skip to main content
University of Wisconsin-Madison homepage

Neha Suri Scholarship

Programs Offering this Scholarship

The Neha Suri Scholarship Fund was established by the Departments of Political Science and School of Journalism and Mass Communication to honor the memory of their dedicated student, Neha Suri. Neha was a beloved 22-year-old journalism and political science major. In addition to working for Recreational Sports at the Southeast Recreational Facility and writing for The Daily Cardinal, she was also an intern for the Lt. Governor at the State Capitol and was active in the campus arts scene. Neha Suri passed away on Tuesday, Feb. 2, 2010 at UW Hospital and Clinics from a rare case of meningococcal disease. She is deeply missed.

Eligibility Criteria

Scholarship recipients will be selected by the College of Letters & Science. Recipients should be Juniors or Seniors majoring in Political Science or Journalism and Mass Communication. Reflective of Neha's time at the University of Wisconsin, a strong preference is given to those applicants seeking a combined major in both areas of study with a passion for service and/or campus involvement as noted above. While financial need is to be considered when selecting the scholar, preference should be given to applicants meeting the above criteria. This award is renewable in that the same student may receive the award for multiple years as long at their path qualifies for the scholarship terms.

How to Apply

Apply for Letters and Science scholarships by logging in at Successful applicants should also have strong recommendations and well written essays. The selected recipients will be notified in mid-March. The selected awardee will be invited to the Political Science and School of Journalism award receptions.

Associated Application

2017-2018 Letters & Science Continuing Student Application

Award Information

Not available at this time. This scholarship awards a one-time $1,000 award to a Letters & Science junior or senior majoring in Political Science and Journalism.

Visit program site